Are there any important limitations to sharing a single Automatic account with someone else? (1st & 2nd Gen ONLY)

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Photo of Automatic FAQ

Automatic FAQ, Official Rep

  • 16,398 Points 10k badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Automatic FAQ

Automatic FAQ, Official Rep

  • 16,398 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Yes, there two important limitations when sharing an Automatic account with someone else.

1. If you share an account with another person, have multiple adapters installed in multiple cars, and both of you drive at the same time (in separate cars), you will experience trip capture and connectivity problems. For this reason, we recommend that each driver have his/her own Automatic account in this configuration.

2. If you plan to use the Crash Alert feature with a shared account, you and the other driver will not be able to add both of your numbers as emergency contacts. This is because emergency contacts are tied to a specific account and not a specific car.  When you share an account, the app thinks that both you and the other driver are the same person because you're both logged in under the same account (and you'll receive an error message that you can’t text yourself). For this reason, we recommend that you create two separate Automatic accounts (one for you and one for the other driver) in order to choose each other as emergency contacts for Crash Alert.

Please see this FAQ for more details on how the multi-user feature works.
(Edited)

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.