Does not recognize street names "Unknown Address"

  • 8
  • Question
  • Updated 8 months ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

At first the application worked correctly but now does not recognize the name of the streets and puts "Unknown Address" is there any solution to this problem?
Photo of Er Perez

Er Perez

  • 168 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated

Posted 12 months ago

  • 8
Photo of Amy

Amy

  • 68,970 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Where are you located, Er?
Photo of Er Perez

Er Perez

  • 168 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hello Amy, I am located in Mexico and I know that Automatic is only for USA, I am extremely happy about the purchase, everything worked perfectly, only for this detail, if there is no solution I hope that some day they will arrive with all Functions,  one of the best purchases they made
Photo of Amy

Amy

  • 68,970 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Ok. While it's not supported for use outside the US, this is a bug with the new mapping provider we're working with and should be resolved soon. 
Photo of Amy

Amy

  • 68,970 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi Er - there's new firmware being tested to address this but in the meantime, unplug/replug should fix it for now.
Photo of James O'Brien

James O'Brien

  • 70 Points
Any update? Or are the international users out of luck? So many of us are using it -- I hope you don't let this "bug" ruin it.
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,184 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi James,

Unfortunately it turns out that this isn't a bug, our new map provider doesn't provide address data outside of the US. 
Photo of Ireney Berezniak

Ireney Berezniak

  • 182 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I am located in Canada. I have gen 2 device and I am running the Automatic Classic app version 2.9.4. As of July 6, the addresses of all my trips are "Uknown", even though the map in the app or the dashboard clearly shows my start/end locations.  Is this the same problem?  The app itself has not been updated since Oct 20, 2016.
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,184 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Ireney and James, 

While we gladly accept criticism of our product and appreciate any type of feedback, we don't allow other products to be advertised or offered up as an alternative. This is the Automatic Community, after all. 
Photo of James O'Brien

James O'Brien

  • 70 Points
Understandable. Just trying to help a fellow Canadian. Its only because of the void you left in our hearts, that we need to find an alternative. All love, automatic. I'll be waiting for proper international expansion some day.
(Edited)
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,184 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Oh man, we seriously LOVE Canada, it's true. We just don't have the things to do the stuff right now. I hope we will see you later down the road. 
Photo of coolbeans99

coolbeans99

  • 94 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Would your product manager consider looking at the business case for supporting Canada? At the right price, I would consider upgrading to the Canadian friendly version. 
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,184 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi coolbeans99,

We currently don't have the resources to provide support outside of the US, unfortunately. When we do, we will definitely be taking a look, but I don't have an ETA. 
Photo of coolbeans99

coolbeans99

  • 94 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
This is REALLY lame if AUTOMATIC does not support mapping outside of the US. PLEASE FIX THIS!
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,184 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Sorry coolbeans99, that isn't possible at this time.
May I kindly ask, if I add the addresses manually with the APP why is it not shown in the web browser?

Thanks a lot....
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,184 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hey Mercedes, the Automatic app and the Web Dashboard are two different apps and aren't a reflection of each other.
Photo of Slovo

Slovo

  • 60 Points
This is extremely annoying, especially for old supporters of the company and product. Moreover, it's shameful that you went back from a working version to this, makes you wonder why anyone should ever upgrade your app again..
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,374 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
HI Slovo,

Sorry that you're frustrated, but the Automatic adapter has never been supported outside of the US. It only worked because we were using a different map provider, but unfortunately we had to make a tough decision and change providers. We are sorry to disappoint you.
Photo of Yves Racine

Yves Racine

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Wow, this is ridiculous... Is Automatic as a company going down? Since when companies give a lower level of service when changing map providers?
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,374 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Unfortunately it was a business decision, and again we have never supported usage outside of the US.
Photo of Yves Racine

Yves Racine

  • 240 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Not officially, but you did support it as seen in this forum. The company knew that there were a lot of international users, especially from Canada & Mexico. So, Automatic will be losing a lot of potential customers in the short term. Very bad business decision for a company that is not growing so much anymore.... You cannot put the genie back in the bottle once it's out...

I've developed a SmartThings integration with Automatic and my code is being used by hundreds of users. With your recent changes, which make no business sense, I cannot, in good conscience, promote your Automatic devices as much anymore...
(Edited)
Photo of Dave Peikert

Dave Peikert

  • 70 Points

I agree wholeheartedly with Yves’ comments. Yes, Automatic can shrug their shoulders and simply repeat the fact that their adapter was never officially supported outside the US. But by changing map providers Automatic knowingly took away existing functionality that was being used by customers. Had it never been there it would have been a different story, but it was. I’m not sure if the switch in providers was a money savings initiative but I would say that it’s a move in the wrong direction and a lost opportunity to increase your customer base.
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,374 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Dave,

I am sorry that you're disappointed, and as I mentioned before this was a business decision, and it wasn't an easy one to make. Also, as you mentioned the Automatic adapter has never been supported outside of the US and we told users that were using it anyway it was at their own risk and we made no guarantees that it would work. 
Photo of Meyer

Meyer

  • 72 Points
I am disappointed in this too (German user). In what way is this connected to your acquisition by Sirius and what is the business plan going forward?
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,374 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Meyer,

Sorry to hear you're disappointed. This had absolutely nothing to do with us being acquired, it was because the adapter was never supported to begin with. While we still hope to expand beyond our borders at some point, there is no ETA, unfortunately.
(Edited)
Photo of estmatic

estmatic

  • 1,020 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
I'll ask then, since I've also been wondering. Was the map provider change related to the acquisition? I'm not too familiar with Sirius, but I wondered if they have a partnership with or use a competing product that prevented Automatic from sticking with Google.

It's not just international. Your US customers have also been affected by the change. As far as I can tell none of my trip addresses are correct anymore.
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,374 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi estmatic,

It didn't have anything to do with the acquisition. Google maps changed their pricing from affordable to decidedly not affordable.
Photo of estmatic

estmatic

  • 1,020 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Thanks. Yeah, I can't imagine that's a small bill for you all. The timing just made me wonder.

I think in a previous post you or someone said the devs were looking into possible fixes for the inaccurate addresses. Does that seem like it'll be possible? Though I understand you get what you get as far as the map provider data.
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,374 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
It may be possible at some point, but it depends on our map provider as you said. I totally wish I could give more information, but I don't have any.
Photo of James Janisse

James Janisse

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Reverse Geo Coding in Europe?.

Hi

It seems that on July 6th, Automatic cannot reverse geo code by coordinates anymore and turn it into street addresses? I assume I am not the only one.
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 7,374 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi James,

Unfortunately we had to change map providers and our new provider doesn't have address data for addresses outside of the US.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.