Route recording resolution dropped significantly

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Recently I have found, that the route recording quality dropped with my gen 1 adapter. Something must have happened 8-10 months ago, since then every recorded trip dropped the resolution, you can see it especially on a short trip, you can see that only few points are used to draw a line, that looks ridicoulous as route on a map, but before that it worked seamlessly, it drew a beautiful line exactly along the route. I have made screenshots, but there is no way to upload it here. I know that there is no support anymore for gen 1, but I hope that no change were applied to the service to encourage customers to buy new device. Soon I will have a new car and I planned to buy additional new device, but now I am not sure, as I am afraid, that if another new product will come, I can expect the quality of service will drop again to push me buy another new device?
Could you please help me to solve this problem, and let me know that my fears are not real and I can buy new device and expect the same quality through the product life.
Thank you!
Photo of Ambrus Kontra

Ambrus Kontra

  • 150 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • disappointed

Posted 4 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 6,994 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Ambrus,

We changed map provider earlier last year, but that is the only change that was made. We haven't done anything to or with the 1st Gen adapter for a couple of years, other than remove support. 
Photo of Ambrus Kontra

Ambrus Kontra

  • 150 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Derrick,

Thank you for your answer. As I can imagine, the map provider change should not affect how often the software records the car position to display the route curve on the map, exactly where you were driving instead of drawing zig-zags between few points you were driving thru and ending up with a ridiculous route map.

Unfortunately, your answer does not convince me that my fears are not real that Automatic did this on purpose to force me to buy new adapter, as I tried to solve this by numerous ways, reconnect, changing cars, changing phone, problem remained with me. With all this, I believe Automatic will NOT do his best to keep customers satisfied, but this way focusing on maximizing profit and that is not something I am looking for.

I was able to upload 3 pictures, first shows how accurate was the same 1 gen adapter, look at the freeway loop and exit, the whole route is very precise, and the 2 other where you can see what I am talking about.

Sorry to say that, but if this thing remains like this, Automatic lost a happy customer in me, gained a disappointed customer who will not spend any money again on Automatic product.

Best,
Ambrus Kontra
    
(Edited)
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 6,994 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Ambrus,

Actually the new map provider no longer snaps the route to the roadway, and since the 1st Gen adapter doesn't have it's own GPS, it only picks up raw GPS data using your phone's capabilities. The routes you are seeing are based on the information we received. As I mentioned before, the only change that was made was the map provider. Sorry that you're unhappy, but as you already know the 1st Gen adapter is no longer supported, and there will be no upgrades.
Photo of Ambrus Kontra

Ambrus Kontra

  • 150 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Derrick,

Thank you for your answer! Now that makes sense technically, that the provider no longer snaps the route on roadway. Although, before that change I had only great and perfect routes on maps and since then I have only this ridiculous drawings with only few points connected, so the difference is NOT only the "snap the route to the roadway". 

Also I don't think the phone raw GPS data provides only 5-6 points during a 8 minute trip, or with the other example in Reno, 3-4 points for a 21 minute trip, something must have changed there beyond the "no snap to roadway", you can see that these changes does not explain why this happens. 

One more thing that concerns me that this "new map provider" change happened several weeks after Automatic announced that there will be no support anymore, so Automatic made changes to the service after stopped supporting it, and the changes affected the service so it made the quality much lower, so I still suspect that was not in the customer's interest, but Automatic wanted to provide old adapter users deteriorative service, to make them want to buy new adapter.

So, making the service worst is not too fair after stopping the support. My biggest problem that if I'm right and I buy another adapter, what stops Automatic do the same later, if there will be new adapter again.

It seems that you will not help me, since there is no support anymore, right? And I am not convinced that this is not a purposely made change from Automatic. Maybe it would worth to do further investigation with others involved to figure out what's going on here, since if I'm right you will never admit that Automatic purposely made changes to make customers want to buy new product from Automatic.

What do you think about it?
Photo of Derrick S.

Derrick S., Official Rep

  • 6,994 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Ambrus,

I have stated several times that we haven't made any changes to the 1st Gen Automatic adapter, other than removing support. The map provider did change the experience, but we didn't do anything to degrade the previous adapter's experience. There is nothing more that can be done here.
Photo of Ambrus Kontra

Ambrus Kontra

  • 150 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Derrick,

Thank you for all your answers and effort to help me, but it seems that no information surfaced that makes me believe I'm wrong here. I still suspect Automatic made the service bad on purpose after stopped supporting it, to force customers to buy new device. I don't believe this device should work like this, as it used to perform much much better constantly, and at some point of time it just started to work this bad constantly. I have changed phone, changed car, reconnect, nothing helped and it stays like this. Now Automatic lost a customer, and my satisfaction turned into disappoint and my plan to buy Automatic Pro device will never happen as I lost trust in this company. 

Thanks again for your efforts.
Ambrus Kontra

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.