What do I need to do to transfer a car to a different Pro or Lite Automatic account?

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
Photo of Automatic FAQ

Automatic FAQ, Official Rep

  • 16,368 Points 10k badge 2x thumb

Posted 1 year ago

  • 2
Photo of Automatic FAQ

Automatic FAQ, Official Rep

  • 16,368 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Once a Pro or Lite adapter has been set up on any particular car, that car is now linked to that user account and no other user account will be able to set up on that car -- with either the existing adapter or their own Pro or Lite adapter. The user account must first be severed from that car. This is done by emailing Tech Support at help@automatic.com from the email address associated with the original user account to request the car be removed from the account.

The scenarios under which the link between the user account and the car must be severed are:
  • Selling your car along with your Pro or Lite adapter to someone else

  • Selling your car and wanting to ensure the new owner can set up their own Automatic adapter on it

  • Giving your car & adapter to someone in your family who wants to have their own account, rather than use yours
Please note that removing a car from an account also removes all that car's data from the account.

If you've purchased a car that was previously set up with Automatic Pro or Lite and thus are unable to get through setup, you'll need to have the seller email help@automatic.com from the email address associated with their Automatic account, authorizing us to remove that car from their account.
(Edited)

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.