What happens when my adapter gets reconnected after driving around without being connected for a time?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Photo of Automatic FAQ

Automatic FAQ, Official Rep

  • 16,398 Points 10k badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Automatic FAQ

Automatic FAQ, Official Rep

  • 16,398 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
UPDATED 10/2016

If you haven't connected to the adapter in some time (with Lite, Gen 1 & Gen 2 due to the app not running, Bluetooth being disabled, your car being driven without the connected phone in it, or other connection issues) or if your Pro adapter didn't get a cellular connection during a trip, there will be some data stored on the adapter which must be uploaded the next time you connect. We call this process "dumping" as it offloads a lot of data at once. 

The adapter will store up to 8 hours worth of driving data from the past 28 days. Once more than 8 hours of driving has been stored on the adapter without connecting to the app on your phone, the adapter will stop capturing driving & trip data. If you drive more than 8 hours without connecting to the adapter, the newer trip data will be lost and will never appear in your trip timeline. Once you do connect, however, the 8 hours of stored data will start to download to your phone and new trips will be captured again. If you go longer than 28 days without connecting, the trips older than 28 days will be lost. Additionally, if the adapter was loose in the port or if the firmware on the adapter crashed during the drive, no drive data will be collected and stored.

If you're on a Gen 2 adapter, the full routes of your stored trips should download to your app because the adapter contains a GPS chip for capturing this information.

If you're on a Gen 1 adapter, you'll get some information about the trips but you won't see routes as it relies on the GPS on your phone for route tracking. Please see this update about Gen 1 adapters.

This "data dumping" isn't visible to you in the app, but we can see the data upload on the backend. With a Gen 1 & 2, the best thing to do to help get all the data uploaded is to keep the app in the foreground for your next few drives. With a Lite adapter, just ensure you reconnect the adapter and phone with engine running and the trips should sync. With a Pro adapter, the best thing to do to dump that data is ensure you drive in an area with a strong AT&T or T-Mobile network. Depending on how much backed-up data there is, this can take up to 45-60 minutes of cumulative driving. During this time, current trips may not appear in the app even if "Currently Driving" is displayed in Gen 1 or 2, or you see the real time movement of the car in Pro when you drive. Once all the data is finished uploading, you'll start seeing the trips you've taken since reconnecting.
(Edited)

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.