Will I still be able to be tracked if I delete the app off my phone?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Photo of Caitlin Murphy

Caitlin Murphy

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jeff

Jeff, Alum

  • 14,146 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Caitlin,

Thanks for getting in touch.

If the Automatic application is no longer on your phone, the information from the adapter won't be synced to your smartphone, thus your captured trip would go nowhere.

To be clear, Automatic doesn't offer real-time tracking of your driving data so nobody would ever be able to see where you are driving at any given time. If you share a car with another user who is set up with Automatic, they won't be able to see where you are currently driving or your trips. The only information they would see is where the car is parked so they could pick it up, which is helpful for cases in which people share a car. 

In case you are asking about License+ (which is commonly misconceived as a tracking tool), this product does not share real-time driving data with your coach. Instead, it allows the coach to review trips (which includes city-to-city) and events with their student driver. The way we designed License+ was to do this in non-invasive way for the driver. For more information, please see this blog post.

I hope this helps to answer your question, Caitlin. Please let me know if something wasn't addressed.
Photo of Caitlin Murphy

Caitlin Murphy

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Yes that does help a lot, thank you! But if another family member has the Automatic app on their phone even if I delete it off mine, they can still track me?
Photo of Jeff

Jeff, Alum

  • 14,146 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hey Caitlin,

Glad that helped.

The only way data from your trips is shared to your Automatic account is if your phone is connected to the adapter during or after a trip. If you don't connect to the adapter during a trip, the adapter will store up to eight hours (2nd generation adapter only) of driving data and will sync that data to your device the next time you connect. None of the trip data is added to the app until trip is completed.

To be clear, Automatic does not share actual trip data with other users or real time tracking. If another member of your family has an Automatic account that is setup with the same car, the only information they will have access to is the location of the parked car and if the vehicle's check engine light comes on.

If your phone does not have the Automatic application on it, there would be no way for the data from your trips to be transferred via Bluetooth to your phone and into the Automatic application.

Just to clear up one final point—Automatic does not provide a way for users to track the trips of other drivers. The only thing they can track is parking location, check engine light events and if you are using License+, they can see hard events (hard brakes, hard accelerations), the city in which a trip started and ended (no addresses, just the city) after it has been completed and if the student driver has completed any of the tasks within License+.  

I hope that helps to clear things up, Caitlin.
(Edited)
Photo of Caitlin Murphy

Caitlin Murphy

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Okay, I think I got it now. Thank you so much!!!! Very helpful

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.